Saturday in the Park

1 05 2009

Suddenly, the temperature rose and summer came to the city…in April.

I decided to rise with it. I took to the streets on Saturday and explored the park with a friend from work. I’ve been all over the Northwest part of Central Park. My church is on Central Park West (CPW as they call it) and 108th and after service I cross into the park and climb the Great Hill and walk around a little.

During the winter it was tranquil somewhat slumbering. Gangly tree branches lining the trails, brave runners enduring the windchill in pursuit of fitness. But in the spring it transforms and is alive with people and activity. And by activity I don’t mean bar-b-ques and frisbee. New Yorkers do everything, from tightrope walking, to bocce ball to swordfighting, to things I’d can’t even name.

Central Park is not a park. It’s a universe.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

